Browser behavior

Hi

May be it is because I am new to this game, but I have noted some strange difference in behavior when working in the backend between FireFox and Chromium (Linux version of Chrome)

I have a lot of tables on my old site which are very tedious and time consuming to construct.

I have found in FireFox I can just copy and paste (using control V) and tables render exactly the same as in my old site.

If I try the same way in chromium I get only the figures and no formatting see the bottom table below

This seems very strange to me. I have also noticed that if I copy and paste the text from my old website into Chromium (control +V). I can reformat the text. If I do the same exercise in FireFox I cannot reformat the text. This is probably do to something with the control + V method. I can solve the problem with the text in FireFox by pasting into a text editor first then copying again, which I understand gets rid of the formatting information. So maybe control + V in Chromium pastes unformatted text and Firefox pastes formatted text ???

Lastly I cannot make tables in the text editor in the backend, I don’t know if this is a bug in the CK Editor or not. If I try to insert a 3 row 2 column table I just get a box. Whatever I try I cannot get make tables.

This not an immediate problem for me, as long as my table from my old sight copy and render properly I don’t need to make new tables.

Has anyone else note these difference in behavior between browsers ?

Hi @alaneku - interesting observation.

So first thing to get you moving - I would click over to the “Source” edit and paste in the table HTML just to make sure it stays consistent between browsers and you’re not relying on CKEditor to interpret the pasted information correctly between browsers, because I’m sure there could be quirks between browsers, particularly Chromium on Linux.