Compatible Themes for PHP 8.1

Hi!
My webhost is migrating to PHP 8.1 and are going to completely delete the current PHP 7.4 version from their servers at the end of November 2022!

Any suggestions of a theme I can switch to, that is compatible with PHP 8.1 would be greatly appreciated. When I switch to PHP 8.1 on my current sites… they go into error and won’t load at all!!

Any advice on this topic would be greatly appreciated as I’m not a programmer.

My very basic analogy is… I know how to drive the car… but please don’t ask me to fix the pistons!! haha … is how I’m feeling!

Thank you in advance for any help you may be able to offer me.

Cheers!

What concrete core version is your current site?

Core version is… 8.5.6 :slight_smile:

The v8 core is not php8 compatible.

You would need to update to concrete v9.1.2 for best php8.1 compatibility.

php8 compatibility with v9 is pretty good now, but occasional edge cases still crop up, so it isn’t perfect.

The route to get there very much depends on your current theme and addons installed.
If the site is not that big, it may actually be easier (as you are not a developer) to create a new v9 site and copy/paste content between them.

Interesting… Hmmm… how do I create a new v9 site without creating a new domain name?

Also, how do I update to concrete v9.1.2?

Sorry for my ignorance. But I’m genuinely in trouble!

Hi @brisseo, I htink its pretty poor form for your host to move to PHP 8 and then not support at least the last version before it. PHP 8 is still fairly new and a lot of software systems are yet ready for it.

I would be more than happy to help you move the site to another host if that helps? I actually host over 150+ site myself and would be happy to host it or find another host for you.

I can support 7.4 along with many other hosts.

Wow! Can you send me some details of your hosting plans… costs etc?