Error: Unable to get category for permission search_file_folder

Hello Team,

I am getting this error when upgrading from version 5.7.5.3 to 8.0.0. Please assists me or guide me to fix this issue.

Thanks,
John

Are you going to version 5.7.5.13 first, then V8?

No Mesuva, I am trying V8 directly. I am new to this upgrade process. Can you please provide me some Ideal steps to process this upgrade?

Thanks,
John

The standard practise with upgrading major versions of Concrete is to upgrade to the latest of the major version the site is on first, then do the major version upgrade.

So you should be able to go from 5.7.5.3 to 5.7.5.13, and then do V9.

Keep in mind that 5.7 upgrades have to be triggered. I normally log into a site first, then swap out the concrete folder, and visit /index.php/ccm/system/upgrade

But with V8, simply dropping in the new folder and visiting the site with trigger the upgrade immediately.

I’d suggest following the instructions at
How to Upgrade Concrete5 under the ‘Replacing the original Concrete Directory (Version 8 and above)’ section and the ‘Replacing the original Concrete Directory (5.7.5.10 and earlier) sections’

For larger sites, I will often do the upgrade locally and push up the full site again. Or I’ll at least test the upgrade locally.

One tip is to adjust some PHP options to allow the upgrade to complete successfully. Often the upgrade will just take a lot of time to process, so it can time out. I will (using cPanel or equivalent) adjust the PHP settings to set a very long timeout (10 minutes), and make sure the memory limit is set high enough.

Thank you, let me try the standard process of the Major upgrade.

Thanks,
John

I tried the above steps and I am getting the same error, please assist me with this error in the upgrade process

Exception

Unable to get category for permission search_file_folder

It may be some previous upgrade failed and there’s some inconsistency that the upgrade is tripping up on.