Just aweful

I’ve been using concrete for several years now. I did a test update (copied site to a spare domain) to 9.1.2. I had been using the Elemental theme and it continues to work as it did before. If I try to switch to the new Atomik theme (I’d been looking forward to a nice clean theme) it all goes for a crap. The main menu disappears and if I try putting an auto-nav block back it bunches everything together and looks like crap. There’s hardly any v9 extensions. No free themes. I understood there’d be some changes to make but if I’ve got to rewrite the whole site, then I may as well move to another CMS like Drupal that has more plugins and themes. I can write some php but struggle and need a CMS that doesn’t expect me to do all the work.

1 Like

I do agree with you… and not.
As with most software, upgrades are offered as the product is not really finished. That said, with v9.2, if your site is “simple” the migration should be easy (at least I did it for about 30 sites using the command line tool).
On the other hand, if the site is big or if you have a lot of packages, themes modifications and worse, home-made scripts… That’s more difficult!
Finally, for information, some packages in v8 work perfectly in v9, you just have to try (with a backup if things go wrong)

Hi.

I can agree with you that V9 is a shock if one has been using older version of Concrete. However, on Menus, do give Atomik a try on one of your subsidiary pages. It seems as if one has to apply the theme one page at a time, unless I have missed the tool to apply it right across the site. My experience is that the menu will appear in the topmost block which is the sitewide navigation block and is much better organised than Elemental which tries to squeeze all the entried into the the rightmost of the three sitewide header blocks.