Sync route from development to production

I’m a longtime web developer with things like Ruby on Rails and Wordpress, but new to Concrete CMS. I’ve inherited a 5.7 project.

If I create a single page on my development setup (created with docker), how do I get that same page in production?

I’m using git, and so code (the single page view at application/single_pages/mypage.php and controller at application/controllers/single_page/mypage.php) make it to production no problem. But unless I’m mistaken, I also have to manually go into the Dashboard at https://example.com/index.php/dashboard/pages/single and add a route manually for “mypage”, otherwise going to https://example.com/mypage will result in a 404.

You are coming up against a specific instance of a problem that has existed forever.

Its easy to copy code between sites. But copying settings that are held in the database is all or nothing.

Personally I always develop in packages. Then use the package controller install method to run code to add the single page. You can also use an XML file in the package install to declare single pages to add (and blocks, attributes, and anything else). That takes care of code and installing single pages, blocks, etc.

That still doesn’t facilitate generally pushing updated content from stage to live. You unfortunately need to plan what needs to be edited on stage (for testing) and then edited again on live, and what content you can write directly on live.

In most cases, once a site is live new content is consequently edited directly on the live site and workflows/permissions are then used to prevent visitors from seeing content before it is ready.

1 Like

Ah. Thanks for the knowledge on packages. I’ll read up more. It sounds like that might also handle the idea of “migrations” that I’m used to. Meaning that if I use a package to add a single page, and then I switch to a different git branch to work on something else, that single page will be removed. I hope so!