Syntax error or access violation: 1064

I have a site (concrete version 8.2.1) that was running fine on PHP 7.1.

Today the site won’t load and has an error reading:
An exception occurred while executing ‘select * from Groups where gID = ?’ with params [1]: SQLSTATE[42000]: Syntax error or access violation: 1064 You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near ‘Groups where gID = ‘1’’ at line 1

From what I can gather this is a conflict of… ‘MySQL 8 GROUPS is a reserved keyword’
Im not a coder so am completely stuck trying to bring the site back so i can upgrade it. I have tried newer versions of PHP, and also gone back and tried 5.6 but nothing helps.

Can anyone please help me by pointing me to the file or files i need to edit to correct this problem? Would a cean install of core help and if so how do i do that without damaging the site?

Many thanks.

That version of Concrete CMS will not run nicely on MySQL 8, changing the PHP version will not change the MySQL version. Upgrading your site to 8.5.12 would solve this problem, there are a few different methods you can use to upgrade your site - How to Upgrade Concrete CMS

Personally the Command Line method is the most successful but you can choose whatever method you think would be best. If you do it in the Dashboard the risk of exceeding the web server timeout is quite high.

Make sure you do a backup of the database and the application/config directory before you do any updates.

Many thanks for your reply, I do apprecaite your help.