Upgraded site links back to old database

Your thoughts please…

I recently upgraded a C5.6.4.0 site using the same templates and css files. In the new install the menu links open pages that were previously written to the old database. Works well and saves me a ton of repopulating.

But..is this safe? will it cause issues having 2 databases for the one site?